Highlight Urgent Updates In Your BeamON Account

Highlight Urgent Updates In Your BeamON Account

Updates are often the most important pieces of information related to your inventory. Whether it is an external update that came directly from a manufacturer or an internal update that your organization identified yourself, prioritizing and assigning updates helps keep your team organized and in sync.

Updates are often the most important piece of information related to your inventory and your assets.

Updates either come directly from the manufacturer, (think recalls, end of life, software updates, new releases on resources, etc!), or they can be something that you identify and write internally, (think important tasks or projects!). Updates are a way to help manage the workflow of your team to make sure the most important things get done, and that the less important things are identified. 

Once there is an update in your updates module, you are able to take several actions to highlight the importance of your update!

Prioritizing Your Update

The first action you can take to highlight the importance of an update is to prioritize it. To prioritize an update, open the update and select if you want to categorize an update as “Urgent,” “Important,” “Non-Critical” or “Uncertain.” 

Pro-tip: define expectations with your team on exactly what it means to prioritize an update! For example, what is the expected turnaround time on an “Urgent” update? Committing to a timeframe will give you something you can hold your team accountable to to make sure that work gets done as expected. 

After opening an Update, the top navigation shows you the option 'Prioritize' - click on it to select your desired level

Assigning Your Update

The next action step you can take related to your updates is to assign them to a team member. This gives an additional layer of accountability, and also helps you prioritize your team’s work! To assign an update to a user, you’ll need to first prioritize it. Once the update has been prioritized, you can then assign the update to a user.

Once an update has been assigned to a user, it will then display under “Assigned to Me” in their updates. This action gives your team clarity on exactly what is in their arena of responsibility, and what is not. Just like with your prioritizations, we recommend you set team expectations on what it means to have an update assigned to a user - if you don’t know where to start, begin with expectations on due dates and scope of the project!

After you have prioritized an Update, you can select your team member responsible to take care about the update task

Need help mapping out your workflows, related to your use of updates? We would love to help - schedule a consultation call today!