Your Beam Profile

Your Beam Profile

This article tells you all you need to know to receive your platform user credentials, how to sign in, how to add new users, and how to assign user roles.

To acquire a login to your organization’s Beam platform subscription, an admin of the account will need to send you an invitation to activate your account. This activation link will come to your email address and will have step-by-step instructions for activating your account. Note: when you initially receive your activation email, it will include the name of your organization, which you will need to log in to the platform.

How to Sign in

To sign into your account, go to the website https://app.beamdynamics.io/. Once you are at this screen, you will need to enter the name of your organization. If you do not know the name of your organization as it was named in Beam, please reference your original activation email for your account, which will give you this information.

Once you’ve entered your organization name, you will be able to log in through the email that your administrator set your account up under and the password you chose in your initial log in. If you ever do not remember your password, you can request to reset your password while logging in.

Add A New User

To add a new user to your account, you will need to send them an invitation. This exists at the top of the User Management page for administrators.

To add a new user, you will add their email and then select the role you want to assign the new user. Once you have added an email address and the user’s role, you’ll see the “Send Invite” button turn blue, indicating that your invitation is ready to be sent.

User Roles

Within the Beam platform you are able to assign users to different roles that affect the actions that a user can perform. There are four different options for user roles: Admin, Editor, Member, Viewer.

Admin

Users in the system with the role of “Admin” have the highest privileges in the platform. Admins can perform all possible actions in the platform. Only Admins are able to invite new users to the platform. Please note, each Beam Account must have at least one Admin account present within the account. Admins are the only user role able to edit the user settings of another user.

Editor

Editors are able to create, read, update, and delete the inventory page, assets, and tags. Editors are not able to manage fields or tag categories - these functions will need to be completed by an admin. Editors are able to read and update their personal User Management Settings, and to read the User Management User List.

Member

Members are able to read and update the inventory page, assets, and tags, but they are not able to create or delete. Members are also able to read or update their personal User Management Settings, and to read the User Management User List.

Viewers

Viewers are able to read information from the inventory page and individual assets. They are able to read and update their personal User Management Settings and to read the User Management User List.

Sign Out & Change Password

To sign out or to change your password, you’ll click the profile icon in the bottom left of the screen below the help icon. Once you have clicked the profile icon, you’ll see the options to sign out or to change your password. 

To manage users in your organization’s Beam account, please navigate to the configuration tab, located in the bottom left of the side navigation bar. Navigate to the User Management page, where you can see active users in your account and see their current roles. 

To edit or delete a user, click the three dots to the right of the user profile. This will allow you to either deactivate the user's account, change the photo, update the email address associated with the account, and change the user’s role. 

Notes on deactivating a user: 

  • This action does not remove the history of the user within the platform. 
  • Note: be sure to reassign updates to a different user before deactivating the user they are currently assigned to.

To see users that have been invited to the Beam, please click the “Invitations” tab to the right of the “Current Users” tab. If a user has accepted the invitation, they will show in both tabs. 

If you invited a user to join your account and they did not respond to the invitation or you would like to uninvite them, you can navigate to the “Invitations” tab and click the three dots to the right of their role. From here, you can cancel the invitation.

Michelle Kline
Customer Success Director, BEAM Dynamics
View Profile